Current Programme

All enquires about our programme can be submitted through our contact form

Club members exploring Coastal Rocks on Eyre Peninsula

2022 Programme
Date *Activity Topic/Theme Speaker/Leader  
Thurs 3 Feb Meeting Craters,  caves and sinkholes: volcanic effects on limestone Ian Lewis  
Sun 20 Feb
(note change of date)
Half-day excursion The Tate Museum: treasures old and new Peter Keller  
Thurs 3 Mar Meeting Ageing of the Earth Paul Curnow  
Sun 27 March Day Excursion Faults that formed the Mt Lofty Ranges and Willunga Embayment Peter Briggs, Nick Lemon, Kym Dixon  
Thurs 7 April Meeting "Unravelling the rocks of the Flinders Ranges: from rivers and oceans to snowballs"
Presentation by Uni. of Adelaide PhD students
Georgina Virgo
Darwinaji Subarkah
Jarred Lloyd
 
Sat 23 - Mon 25 April Long weekend Excursion Following the faultlines - Mt Gambier craters, caves and sinkholes: volcanic effects on limestone Ian Lewis  
Thurs 5 May Meeting Managing Adelaide's beaches: past, present and future James Guy  
Sun 29 May Excursion Protecting our sandy beaches, from Marino to Semaphore Cynthia Pyle  
Thurs 2 June Brian Daily Lecture The amazing story of the Adelaide Superbasin Prof. Alan Collins  
Sat 4 - Sun 5 June Weekend excursion Victor Harbor – hot granites, cold ice
(replaces originally planned long excursion)
Bob Major, Mark Dale  
Thurs 7 July
6:30 pm start 
Meeting Ralph Tate Memorial Lecture TBA TBA  
Sun 31 July Half-day workshop A variety of indoor geological activities Cynthia Pyle, Peter Briggs, Kym Dixon and Garry Trethewey  
Thurs 4 Aug Meeting Our Cretaceous seas: how the monsters lived and died Tom Hurley  
Sun 28 Aug Excursion Aldgate and Mount Barker: from old to young Peter Briggs, Bob Major  
Thurs 1 Sept Meeting Ethiopia's rock churches and their geology France Williams  
Sun 25 Sept-Mon 3 Oct Long Excursion Hiltaba Nature Reserve: geology, geoheritage and geotourism Assoc. Prof. Pat James, Richard Williams, Mark Dale  
Thurs 6 Oct Meeting TBA TBA  
Sat 22 - Sun 23 Oct Weekend Excursion Deep in Delamerian: the southern Fleurieu Peninsula Peter Briggs, Kym Dixon  
Thurs 3 Nov AGM and members’ night  
Fri 11 Nov Annual Dinner   
Sat 26 Nov Picnic  
  Meetings commence at 7.45 pm unless otherwise indicated. All except the July meeting will be preceded by a hands-on rock and mineral workshop, starting at 6.30 pm.
*Check excursion dates carefully as not all excursions are held on the last Sunday of the month, and some may be on a weekday.